The Landscape Partners Named Small Business of the Year by Fort Worth Chamber of Commerce

  The Landscape Partners received the 2013 Small Business of the Year Award from the Fort Worth Chamber of Commerce. David Minor and Rick Onstott accepted the award at Mayor Betsy Price’s State of the City address at the Fort Worth Convention Center in 2014. The Landscape Partners won in the 50-150 employee category and was chosen from a field of a record-setting 94 nominees and 38 applicants in four categories based on number of employees. Criteria for the award are business growth and performance, sound business strategies and practices, customer service strategies, business challenges, unique and innovative approaches, and community involvement. “Every year, I’m more impressed with the caliber of small businesses entering this competition and the brilliance of their leadership,” said Bill Thornton, president and CEO of the Fort Worth Chamber. “Their success stories illustrate why Fort Worth is growing and attracting students, entrepreneurs and talent from all over the world.” More than 90 percent of the Fort Worth Chamber’s membership is made up of small businesses with fewer than 100 employees. The Landscape Partners is a regional commercial landscape maintenance firm with offices in Ft. Worth, Dallas and Oklahoma City. “I am honored and humbled to be able to accept this award for all of our colleagues who on a daily basis deliver on our mission of providing great quality, great service and great value for our customers to help make our company successful,” said David Minor, President and CEO of the company. Our purpose statement is “to leave the world just a little better than we found it.” It’s rewarding for all of our team to know that in our own small way we are doing just that and receiving recognition for it. Each finalist was judged by a panel of Fort Worth Chamber business owners and professionals, most of them past award winners. Top entrepreneurial students from Texas Christian University’s Neeley School of Business were also among the judges. The Small Business of the Year Awards is presented by Community Bank. Additional sponsors for the 2013 Small Business of the Year Award program are TCU’s Neeley School of Business Entrepreneurship Center, Charter Business, and the Fort Worth Business Press.